Ohio (state)

(click on the name of a county to see information specific to that location)
Adams County Fayette County
Allen County Franklin County
Ashland County Fulton County
Ashtabula County Gallia County
Athens County Geauga County
Auglaize County Greene County
Belmont County Guernsey County
Brown County Hamilton County
Butler County Hancock County
Carroll County Hardin County
Champaign County Harrison County
Clark County Henry County
Clermont County Highland County
Clinton County Hocking County
Columbiana County Holmes County
Coshocton County Huron County
Crawford County Jackson County
Cuyahoga County Jefferson County
Darke County Knox County
Defiance County Lake County
Delaware County Lawrence County
Erie County Licking County
Fairfield County Logan County


State of Ohio
Lorain County Montgomery County Portage County Trumbull County
Lucas County Morgan County Preble County Tuscarawas County
Madison County Morrow County Putnam County Union County
Mahoning County Muskingum County Richland County Van Wert County
Marion County Noble County Ross County Vinton County
Medina County Ottawa County Sandusky County Warren County
Meigs County Paulding County Scioto County Washington County
Mercer County Perry County Seneca County Wayne County
Miami County Pickaway County Shelby County Williams County
Monroe County Pike County Stark County Wood County
    Summit County Wyandot County


Related Content
(the links below contain information related to this area)

Proclamation erecting new county of Wayne, 1803

January 24th. 1803. "Whereas by an act of Congress passed on the 30th April 1802. Entitled an act to enable the people of the Eastern divisions of the Territory North West of the Ohio River, to form a Constitution and State Government, and that after the formation of said State, all that part of the north Western Territory which is not included within the Boundaries prescribed for said State, Shal be attached to and make a part of the Indiana Territory;it has Therefore become necessary for the convenience of the Citizens in the newly acquired Territory and for the due administration of Justice, that a new County should be laid off and Established, the Governor Issued a proclamation Establishing the boundaries as follows viz. beginning at a point where an East and west line passing through the Southerly Extreame of Lake Michigan would intersect a North and South line passing through the most westerly bend of the said Lake, and thence north along the last mentioned line to the Territorial Boundary of the United States thence along the said boundary line to a point where a due east and west line passing through the Southerly extreme of Lake Michigan would intersect the same thence west along the last mentioned line to the place of begining and that the said County should be designated and Known by the name of the County of Wayne

An Act to enable the people of the Eastern division of the territory northwest of the river Ohio to form a constitution and state government, and for the admission of such state into the Union, on an equal footing with the original States.., 1802

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the United States of America in Congress assembled, That the inhabitants of the eastern division of the territory northwest of the river Ohio, be, and they are hereby authorized to form for themselves a constitution and state government, and to assume such name as they shall deem proper, and the said state, when formed, shall be admitted into the Union, upon the same footing with the original states, in all respects- whatever.


Spacer for Taxonomy