09 December 1815



Referenced Items
(content on HistoryKat that references this area)

An Act for the division of Gallatin County, 1815

Be it enacted by the Legislative Council and House of Representatives of the Illinois Territory, and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the same, That all that tract of Country within the following boundaries, (to wit,) beginning at the mouth of the little Wabash running up the same to Joseph Boon's mill, thence due West to the third principal meredian, thence North to the South Best corner of Edwards County, thence with Edwards County line East to the Big Wabash, thence down the same to the beginning ; shall constitute a separate County to be called White ; and for the purpose of fixing the permanent seat of Justice for the said county the following persons be appointed commissioners (to wit,) James Ratliff, Benjamin White, Samuel Hay, Thomas E. Craig and Stephen Hog, which said commissioners or a majority of them being duly sworn before some Judge or Justice, of the Peace in this Territory to faithfully take into view the situation of the settlement, the geography of the county


Spacer for Taxonomy